Skip to main content Skip to navigation
FAQs on SBA

Questions - Revised Procedures in Handling SBA Plagiarism cases:

    Authentication 
    Plagiarism prevention and Student Declaration Form
    Handling plagiarism cases
    Consequences

Answers:

Authentication

  1. Can students make reference to other sources in completing their SBA work?

    Students can make reference to sources but must not plagiarise. They should write in their own word and not simply copy other's work and ideas and present them as their own. It is important that students integrate what they have learnt from the reference materials and contribute their own ideas when they complete the task.

     

     

  2. How can teachers ensure that the SBA related work submitted is the students' own work?

    Teachers can adopt the following measures to ensure the authenticity of students' work: arranging for critical parts of the SBA to be completed in class under teacher supervision, monitoring students' progress regularly, and asking students to keep journals and drafts of their work and to present their work orally and answer questions, if necessary. There are Internet search engines and electronic detection tools which can help to detect plagiarism through comparison of students' work with original materials.

     

     

  3. Teachers need to make an effort to check students' work for plagiarism. Would this lead to significant increase of teachers' workload?

    The revised procedures do not involve major changes to how SBA is administered at schools but will ensure that a unified and consistent approach is adopted in the handling of all plagiarism cases. Teachers know their students well and should be able to detect plagiarism and other malpractice through suitable monitoring of students' work.

     

     

Plagiarism prevention and Student Declaration Form

  1. Can the HKEAA suggest methods to prevent plagiarism in SBA?

    The development of integrity is an important element in moral education. Both schools and parents play a role in teaching their students/children. It is of utmost importance that honesty is maintained in tests and examinations as well as in SBA. At the beginning of the course of study, students should be informed of what plagiarism is and its serious consequences, as well as how to quote and acknowledge sources properly in their work. Schools should ask their students to complete and sign a declaration form at the beginning of each school year in which SBA is undertaken to declare that all SBA tasks/assignments to be completed are their own work and agree to adhere to a code of honour in completing the SBA of all subjects.

     

     

  2. How should schools arrange for students to sign the Declaration Form?

    As the Declaration Form is applicable to all subjects and is to be completed by each student at the beginning of each school year in which SBA is undertaken, school leaders are expected to coordinate and assign suitable staff to take up this work.

     

     

  3. Do S4 students need to sign the Declaration Form?

    Generally speaking, SBA is conducted in S5 and S6, hence S5 and S6 students should be asked to sign the Declaration Form at the beginning of the two school years. In case schools need to start the SBA of certain subject(s) at S4, they should also ask S4 students to sign the Declaration Form at the beginning of the S4 school year.

     

     

  4. When will the revised procedures of requiring students to sign the new Declaration Form be effective? In case schools have already asked their students to sign subject-specific declaration forms earlier, do they still need to ask their students to sign the new form?

    The revised procedures have been implemented with effect from the 2013-14 school year. As the new Declaration Form can help students to better understand the importance of academic honesty and proper conduct in SBA, schools should ask their students to sign the new Declaration Form even if they have already signed the subject-specific declaration forms earlier.

     

     

  5. Do students need to sign other SBA documents or forms, apart from the new Student Declaration Form?

    Individual subjects may require students to sign subject-specific assessment record forms. Schools can also devise suitable documents that best meet their needs.

     

     

  6. If students have not signed the Declaration Form, does it mean that they will not be penalized when they are found to have plagiarised?

    The main purpose of signing the Declaration Form is to strengthen the message to students about academic honesty and proper conduct in SBA. The penalty to be imposed mainly depends on the severity of the offence, irrespective of whether students have signed the Declaration Form or not. Students should be responsible for ensuring that the work produced are their own and bear the consequences of committing plagiarism or other malpractice in SBA.

     

     

  7. Are the Student Declaration Form and Plagiarism Report (for serious cases) available in bilingual versions?

    Both the English and Chinese versions of the two documents have been uploaded to the HKEAA website for schools' use.

     

     

Handling plagiarism cases

  1. How to classify whether the plagiarism case is serious or not? Should 50% or below be classified as less serious and 60% or above a serious case?

    Different subjects have different assessment requirements so it is difficult to quantify the severity of the plagiarism. Generally speaking, serious plagiarism refers to cases in which the whole or nearly the whole SBA task/assignment is plagiarized, with very little or no contribution from the student. Teachers can refer to this guideline and the subject-specific requirements of the assessment to determine whether the plagiarism is serious or not. If necessary, schools can also seek advice from the HKEAA on actual cases.

     

     

  2. For proven plagiarism cases, can schools ask the relevant student to amend or re-submit their work?

    As SBA is conducted as an integral part of teaching and learning, teachers are expected to provide suitable guidance and feedback to students in case any irregularity is identified. If time permits and at the discretion of the school, students could be allowed to amend or re-submit their work within the period stipulated by the school, especially for unintentional or minor offences committed at the initial stage. On the other hand, once the assessment is completed and marks submitted to the HKEAA, no further changes should be made to the students' work or assessment records.

     

     

  3. Schools will be requested to follow up on suspected plagiarism cases identified by the HKEAA during the checking of samples of work. Can schools just change these cases to 'failure to submit' and award zero marks?

    No. As the course of learning and assessment has completed, schools should not return the work to the student for amendment, re-submission or treat it as 'failure to submit' at this stage, but have to follow up with those cases in accordance with HKEAA's guidelines and schools' procedures.

     

     

  4. Would those suspected plagiarism cases identified by the HKEAA during the review of samples of student's work be returned to the principal, panel head or subject teachers for follow up?

    As the SBA marks have been endorsed by the school principal before they are submitted to the HKEAA, any suspected cases identified will be returned to the school for follow up by the principal and teachers.

     

     

  5. For proven plagiarism cases, do schools need to inform students of the penalty imposed?

    Students should be informed of the penalty imposed and the final SBA marks awarded. Schools should handle any queries from their students about assessment decisions in accordance with their established internal procedures. Any queries from students should be resolved before submitting the SBA marks to the HKEAA. After the release of examination results, candidates may only submit applications to the HKEAA for rechecking of their SBA marks but cannot apply for a re-assessment of their performance in SBA.

     

     

  6. In case schools identify any plagiarism in student's work, do they need to submit the related work of the student to the HKEAA?

    Less serious plagiarism cases are to be dealt with by the school. These cases need not be reported to the HKEAA for follow-up. However, schools should keep a proper record of such cases. In case students committing less serious cases are chosen by the SBA System for sample submission to the HKEAA (for review and moderation purposes), the panel head should contact the SBA Team of the HKEAA to request for a change of student(s) for work submission. This is because penalty may have been imposed on these students and hence the marks awarded may not fairly reflect teachers' assessment standards. Detailed procedures are provided in the User Manual of the SBA System.

    Serious plagiarism cases (P cases) will not be chosen by the SBA System for sample submission. After the completion of mark submission, schools should submit a report for each case, together with the students' work and other related documents, to the SBA Team of the HKEAA for follow up.

     

     

Consequences

  1. What are the consequences of committing plagiarism in SBA?

    Copying from other sources, including the Internet, without quoting and acknowledging the sources properly in their work and passing off other's work as their own is a serious malpractice. Students will be subject to severe penalties for proven plagiarism. The HKDSE Examination Regulations stipulate that a candidate may be liable to disqualification from the subject concerned or the whole of the examination, or suffer a mark or grade penalty for breaching the regulations.

     

  2. Compared with the previous penalty of disqualification from the subject, are the revised penalties too lenient?

    In the past, if the plagiarism is identified by the school, the maximum penalty for serious plagiarism would be zero marks for the SBA of the relevant subject. Under the revised procedures, a downgrade by one level in addition to zero marks being given to the task concerned will be imposed for serious plagiarism cases. For extreme cases, e.g. repeated offence of plagiarism, student may even be subject to disqualification from the subject(s) concerned or the whole examination. Less serious cases are to be dealt with by the school, in accordance with their regulations and HKEAA's guidelines. Hence, the revised procedures can both deter students from committing plagiarism as well as provide students with opportunities for continuous improvement during the course of learning.

跳至主要內容 跳至瀏覽
校本評核常見問題

問題 — 處理校本評核抄襲個案程序的修訂:

    核證
    預防抄襲和學生聲明表格
    處理抄襲個案
    後果

答:

核證

  1. 學生在完成校本評核課業時,可否參考其他資料?

    學生可參考相關資料,但須在參考資料後,應以自己的文字完成課業,不可抄錄他人的著作或意念當作自己的原創。在完成校本評核課業時,學生須整合從參考資料所得,提出個人見解。如需引用參考資料時,必須註明出處。

     

     

  2. 教師可怎樣確保學生提交的校本評核習作是其本人的作品?

    教師可採用下列措施以核證學生習作的真確性:安排學生在課堂中或在教師的監督下,完成課業的重要部分;留意學生的工作進度;要求學生保存有關習作的文獻和草稿;要求學生口頭匯報習作內容,如有需要,教師可向學生提問。互聯網上的搜尋引擎和防抄襲軟件均可協助教師透過比較學生課業與資料來源,查證是否有抄襲行為。

     

     

  3. 教師需要費時檢查學生習作是否有涉及抄襲,會否令教師的工作量大增?

    考評局是次的改動只是對處理抄襲個案的程序略為修訂,使程序更為統一,讓學校有更清晰的指引。

    任課教師了解學生的水平,只要透過適當的監察,應能發現抄襲等違規行為。

     

預防抄襲和學生聲明表格

  1. 考評局可否建議一些方法,以預防在校本評核中出現抄襲行為?

    在品德教育中,培養誠實和正直的品格是很重要的。學校及家長均扮演教育學生/子女的角色。誠實的操守對維持測驗及考試(包括校本評核)的公平性至為重要,故在學期開始時,應教導學生明白什麼是抄襲行為及其嚴重後果;並指導學生如何在習作內適當地引用及註明資料來源。學校須在進行校本評核期間的每一學年開始時,要求所有學生填妥並簽署表格,聲明他們的課業/作業,均是自己的作品,並同意誠實守規地完成各科的校本評核課業。

     

     

  2. 學校應如何安排學生簽署聲明表格?

    由於學生只需在進行校本評核期間的每一學年開始時,為所有科目的校本評核簽署一份聲明表格,因此,學校領導人應作出統籌,委派合適的員工處理這項工作。

     

     

  3. 學生是否需要在中四學年簽署學生聲明表格?

    一般而言,校本評核應在中五及中六兩個學年內完成,因此,學校應於該兩學年開始時安排學生簽署聲明表格。如學校安排部分科目於中四學年開展校本評核的工作,學生便須於中四學年開始時簽署學生聲明表格。

     

     

  4. 何時開始實施要求學生簽署新的聲明表格?如果學校已經安排學生簽署科本的聲明表格,是否仍需安排他們簽署新的表格?

    新的安排於2013-14學年開始實施,由於簽署聲明表格有助學生明瞭學術誠信和按規定完成校本評核的重要性,因此,即使學生已簽署了科本的聲明表格,學校仍需安排他們簽署新的表格。

     

     

  5. 除考評局新發出的學生聲明表格外,學生是否需要簽署其他校本評核的文件或表格?

    個別科目或要求學生簽署科本的評核表格或文件。學校亦可按需要制定校本的要求。

     

     

  6. 若學生沒有簽署聲明表格,是否表示他觸犯抄襲行為時可免被懲罰?

    學生聲明表格主要為教育學生而設,讓學生明瞭學術誠信和按規定完成校本評核的重要性。學生如果觸犯抄襲行為,懲處的輕重只決定於抄襲的嚴重程度,與有否簽署聲明表格無關。學生有責任確保習作是自己的作品,並承擔在校本評核中觸犯抄襲或其他違規行為帶來的後果。

     

     

  7. 學生聲明表格和校本評核嚴重抄襲個案報告是否備有中英文版本?

    兩份文件的中、英文版本,已上載考評局網頁供教師下載。

     

     

處理抄襲個案

  1. 如何界定抄襲行為是否嚴重? 是不是五成或以下就是輕微,六成或以上就是嚴重呢?

    不同科目的評核要求有所不同,因此難以把抄襲行為的嚴重程度以劃一方式量化描述。一般而言,嚴重個案是指差不多整份甚或整份校本評核課業/作業均涉及抄襲,學生只有極少,甚或完全沒有自己的原創。教師可按以上指引以及其科目特性決定抄襲行為是否嚴重。若有需要,亦可就真實個案諮詢考評局。

     

     

  2. 如果證實學生的校本評核課業涉及抄襲,可否讓學生把相關的課業修正後再次提交?

    由於校本評核乃學與教的組成部分,教師應於發現異常情況時給予學生適切的回饋和指引。若時間許可,學校可自行決定是否讓學生在學校指定的時間內修正課業並再次提交,尤其是當學生不是故意抄襲,或是在評核初始階段所觸犯的較輕微違規行為,更應給予學生改進及自我完善的機會。然而,當評核一經完成及分數提交考評局,便不可再修改學生的習作及評核記錄。

     

     

  3. 由考評局發現而要求學校跟進的懷疑抄襲個案,學校可否將該課業撤回,當作學生欠交處理?

    不可以。由於教學過程以及相關課業的評核已經完成,學校不可把課業發還予學生重做、改正或當作欠交,並應根據個案的嚴重程度,按考評局的指引和校規處理。

     

     

  4. 考評局於審閱學生習作樣本時發現的懷疑抄襲個案,會發還予校長、科主任,還是任課教師跟進處理?

    由於校本評核的分數是由校長確認提交予考評局的,因此,考評局在檢視學生習作時如發現懷疑抄襲個案,將會知會校方及要求校長和教師跟進處理。

     

     

  5. 就已證實的抄襲個案,學校是否需要通知相關學生校方所作的懲處?

    由於在發放成績後,考生只可向考評局申請覆核校本評核的分數,但不可申請重新評核他們在校本評核的表現,因此,學校須知會相關學生就違規個案所作出的懲處。若學生對評核結果有任何疑問,學校應按校內程序處理,並在提交分數予考評局前處理所有對評核結果存疑的個案。

     

     

  6. 經學校證實抄襲的校本評核習作,是否須提交予考評局?

    較輕微的抄襲個案由學校處理,學校無需向考評局提交該習作,但須保留有關記錄。如果呈分系統選中有關學生提交習作予考評局作審閱及分數調整參考之用,由於該習作的得分可能已被扣減而未能反映教師的評分標準,科主任須聯絡考評局校本評核組要求更改遞交習作的學生人選,手續詳見校本評核系統使用者手冊。

    至於嚴重的抄襲個案,由於呈分系統不會抽取相關的課業,因此,在完成呈分後,學校須把該習作,連同抄襲個案報告及其他相關文件一併遞交予考評局校本評核組跟進處理。

     

     

後果

  1. 如果學生觸犯抄襲行為,會有什麼後果?

    如果學生抄錄他人的作品,包括互聯網上的資源,而沒有清楚標明所抄錄或引用的資料及註明出處,並把有關資料視為自己的作品遞交予教師,屬嚴重違規行為,一經證實抄襲,學生會被重罰。香港中學文憑考試規則清楚說明,若考生違反考試規則,他們可被罰取消有關科目或全部科目的考試成績,或被罰扣減分數或降級。

     

  2. 與以往取消科目成績的罰則相比,修訂後的罰則是否太輕?

    過往,由學校發現的嚴重抄襲個案,最高的懲罰為相關科目的校本評核部分得零分。經修訂後,嚴重抄襲個案的懲罰為相關課業/習作得零分,且有關科目成績被降低一個等級。若違規情況極嚴重,例如多次觸犯抄襲等,考生可被罰取消有關科目或全部科目的考試成績。至於較輕微的抄襲個案,學校可按校規及考評局指引處理。由此可見,經修訂的處理抄襲方案不但具阻嚇性,也能給予學生自我完善的機會。