Skip to main content Skip to navigation
Local Universities & Higher Education Institutions

Entrance requirements for undergraduate programmes

Currently, students taking the HKDSE have to attain a minimum of level 3 for Chinese Language and English Language and level 2 for Mathematics Compulsory Part and Liberal Studies (i.e. '3322'), in order to meet the minimum requirements necessary to apply for the 4-year undergraduate programmes offered by the University Grants Committee (UGC)-funded institutions. Apart from the four core subjects, institutions will also set the requirements for one or two elective subjects, and other admission requirements.

For the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts (HKAPA) and self-financing institutions, general admission requirements regarding the core subjects are the same as the UGC-funded sector. For elective subjects, the general requirement is level 2 in one subject.

Details of the admission requirements could be found at the JUPAS website and the tertiary institutions websites:

Meanwhile, the optimising proposals for the four senior secondary core subjects (i.e. Chinese Language, English Language, Mathematics and Citizenship and Social Development in lieu of Liberal Studies) have been endorsed jointly by the Curriculum Development Council and the Public Examinations Board of the HKEAA. The proposals have also been accepted by the Education Bureau (EDB). The optimising measures will be implemented at Secondary 4 in the 2021/22 school year and be applicable to the HKDSE starting from 2024. Please click here for details.

In response to the change of Liberal Studies to Citizenship and Social Development in the HKDSE, the results of Citizenship and Social Development will be reported in one level, ‘Attained’. Achievements below ‘Attained’ will be designated as ‘Unattained’. Heads of Universities Committee (HUCOM) has decided that the General Entrance Requirements of the four core subjects for HKDSE applicants will be revised from ‘3322’ to ‘332A’, i.e. ‘332’ and ‘Attained (A)’, beginning from the admission of the 2024/25 intake.

Entrance requirements for Sub-Degree Programmes

The Federation for Self-financing Tertiary Education has recommended that the general minimum entrance requirement, as set under the updated Common Descriptors for sub-degree programmes (including associate degree programmes and higher diploma programmes), should be level 2 obtained in five subjects (including Chinese Language and English Language) in the HKDSE or equivalent. The Vocational Training Council also adopts the same minimum entrance requirements for their higher diploma programmes. Details of the admission requirements are as follows: Federation for Self-financing Tertiary Education.

Other useful links

跳至主要內容 跳至瀏覽
本地大學及專上教育

報讀學位課程

現時,考生在文憑試的中國語文、英國語文科達到第3級,以及數學必修部分和通識教育達到第2級的成績(簡稱 「3322」),便符合資格申請修讀大學教育資助委員會(教資會)資助的大學和院校的四年制學士學位課程。 除了四個核心科目外,各院校仍會制定包括一個或兩個選修科目的成績要求,以及其他入學條件。

至於香港演藝學院(演藝學院)及自資院校,就四個核心科目所訂的入學要求,與教資會資助院校相同。在選修科目方面,這些院校一般要求一個選修科目達到第2級。

有關各院校的入學要求,請參考大學聯合招生辦法及院校的網頁:

此外,課程發展議會與考評局公開考試委員會早前聯席通過文憑試核心科目(即中國語文、英國語文、數學及公民與社會發展科以代替通識教育科)的優化方案,並獲教育局接納。有關方案於2021至2022學年的中四級開始推行,並適用於2024年起的香港中學文憑考試。詳情可按此瀏覽。

因應文憑試通識教育科改動後,公民與社會發展科的成績匯報只設「達標」(Attained)一級,成績在「達標」以下則以「未達標」(Unattained)標示。大學校長會亦決定,自2024/25 學年入學起,文憑試考生四個核心科目的基本入學要求,將由「3322」改為「332A」,即「332」及「達標」。

報讀副學位課程

自資高等教育聯盟建議,副學位課程(包括副學士和高級文憑課程) 的最低入學要求為中學文憑五個科目(包括中國語文和英國語文)達第2級或相若的成績。職業訓練局亦採用相同的最低入學要求,接受學生申請修讀高級文憑課程。有關入學要求,請參考:自資高等教育聯盟

其他常用連結