Skip to main content Skip to navigation
Category A: Senior Secondary Subjects
Category A Senior Secondary subjects include four core subjects (Chinese Language, English Language, Mathematics and Citizenship and Social Development) and various elective subjects. Standards-referenced Reporting (SRR) is adopted for reporting candidates’ results in Category A subjects. Except for Citizenship and Social Development, candidates’ performance is reported in five levels (levels 1 to 5), with 5 being the highest. The level 5 candidates with the best performance are awarded a 5**, and the next top group of candidates are awarded a 5*. Attainment below level 1 is designated as ‘Unclassified’. The results of Citizenship and Social Development are reported in one level, ‘Attained’. Achievements below ‘Attained’ are designated as ‘Unattained’.

For the assessment framework of the Senior Secondary subjects, please click here. For details about the reporting system, please click here.

Category A: Senior Secondary Subjects
Core Subjects

Chinese Language English Language Mathematics Citizenship and Social Development

Elective Subjects

Chinese Literature Biology Business, Accounting and Financial Studies
Literature in English Chemistry Design and Applied Technology
Chinese History Physics Health Management and Social Care
Economics   Information and Communication Technology
Ethics and Religious Studies   Technology and Living
Geography   Music
History   Visual Arts
Tourism and Hospitality Studies   Physical Education

In 2021, the Curriculum Development Council and the Public Examinations Board of the HKEAA jointly endorsed the proposals for optimising the four Senior Secondary core subjects (i.e. Chinese Language, English Language, Mathematics Compulsory Part, and Citizenship and Social Development in lieu of Liberal Studies) and the phasing out of Combined Science and Integrated Science. The proposals were accepted by the Education Bureau (EDB). The optimising measures which are applicable to the 2024 HKDSE and beyond have been implemented from Secondary 4 in the 2021/22 school year. Please click here for details.