Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Introduction

Under New Academic Structure (NAS), all students are expected to complete three years of junior secondary education followed by three years of senior secondary education. Upon completion of this six-year secondary education, students will take the Hong Kong Diploma of Secondary Education Examination (HKDSE), which aims to measure the attainment of students. The HKDSE was administered for the first time in 2012. Most of the candidates are presented by schools.

Most school candidates may take four core subjects (Chinese Language, English Language, Mathematics and Liberal Studies), plus two to three elective subjects from Category A Senior Secondary subjects; Category B Applied Learning subjects or Category C Other Language subjects in the HKDSE.

In line with international standards and to ensure the transparency and explicitness of the results, HKDSE Category A adopts Standards-referenced Reporting of assessment results. Candidates’ achievement under this category is reported against a set of standards divided into five levels (levels 1 to 5), with 5 being the highest. Candidates with the best performance in level 5 are awarded a 5**, and the next top group is awarded a 5*. Attainment below level 1 is designated as “Unclassified”.

The assessment of Category B Applied Learning (ApL) subjects is undertaken by course providers. The results are reported as “Attained” and “Attained with Distinction”. Performance below “Attained” is designated as “Unattained”. Starting from the 2018 HKDSE, the reporting of students' performance in ApL subjects would be further refined from the existing two levels of "Attained" and "Attained with Distinction" to "Attained", "Attained with Distinction (I)" and "Attained with Distinction (II)". Performance of "Attained with Distinction (I)" is comparable to level 3 while "Attained with Distinction (II)" is comparable to level 4 or above of the Category A subjects of the HKDSE. For ApL Chinese (for non-Chinese speaking students), the existing levels of results, i.e. “Attained” and “Attained with Distinction”, will continue to be used. Refinement of these levels would be considered when more data is collected.

For Category C Other Language subjects, question papers of the Advanced Subsidiary (AS) level from Cambridge International Examinations (CIE) are used. Marking and grading are conducted by CIE. Results are reported in five grades (a-e) on the HKDSE certificate, with grade e being the lowest and grade a being the highest. Results below grade e are designated as “Ungraded”.

For statistics of results of the 2016 HKDSE, please click here. For examination statistics of the past HKDSE, please click here.

For more details about HKDSE, you may download the following booklets:

The HKEAA has also launched a series of videos to introduce the HKDSE. Please click here to watch the videos online.

 

 

 

HKEAA Logo

跳至主要內容 跳至瀏覽

香港中學文憑簡介

在新學制下,所有學生可修讀三年初中及三年高中教育。學生完成六年中學課程後,可參加評核其學業程度的香港中學文憑考試(文憑試)。首屆文憑試於2012年舉行,考生以學校考生為主。

大部分學校考生報考四個核心科目(中國語文、英國語文、數學及通識教育)及兩至三個選修科目。考生可從甲類高中科目;乙類應用學習科目或丙類其他語言科目選取選修科目。

為確保成績匯報的方式符合國際水平、而且透明度高及清晰明確,文憑試甲類科目採用水平參照模式匯報成績。考生在甲類科目的表現分為五個等級(1-5級),第5級最高等級。獲第5級的考生中表現最佳者會獲「5**」,隨後表現較佳的則以「5*」標示。表現低於第1級的會標示為「不予評級」。

乙類應用學習科目的評核工作由個別課程提供者負責。成績分別以兩個等級匯報,即「達標」和「達標並表現優異」。表現低於「達標」的水平將被定為「未達標」。於2018年文憑試開始,考生在應用學習科目的成績匯報,將由現在「達標」和「達標並表現優異」兩個等級,再細分為「達標」、「達標並表現優異(I)」和「達標並表現優異(II)」。「達標並表現優異(I)」的表現水平等同文憑試甲類科目第3級的成績,而「達標並表現優異(II)」的表現水平則等同第4級或以上的成績。至於應用學習中文(非華語學生適用),則沿用「達標」和「達標並表現優異」。有關再細分等級的問題,有待收集更多資料後作進一步考慮。

其他語言科目採用Cambridge International*的高級補充程度試題,閱卷及成績評級亦交由Cambridge International處理。成績以五個等級(a-e)在香港中學文憑證書上匯報。其中e級為最低,a級為最高,而e級以下的成績將「不予評級」。

有關2017文憑試成績統計資料,可按此瀏覽 。有關歷屆文憑試統計資料,可按此瀏覽 。

如想了解更多有關文憑試資料,可下載以下小冊子﹕

為增加公眾了解文憑試,考評局製作一系列短片,可按此瀏覽。

*註:前稱Cambridge International Examinations(中文譯名:英國劍橋大學國際考試)

 

 

 

新高中課程及評核檢討
香港中學文憑網上服務
為特殊需要考生提供服務
樣本試卷及練習卷
香港中學文憑專題文章
公開考試資訊中心
文憑試快線
香港中學文憑通訊
考評局通訊

訂閱電子通訊

訂閱電子通訊

考評局頻道

考評局頻道

無障礙網頁

無障礙網頁嘉許計劃

App下載

App下載

有能者∙聘之約章

有能者∙聘之約章
HKEAA Logo