Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Reporting of examination results

Questions:

Answers:

  1. What are the advantages of adopting Standards-referenced Reporting (SRR) of results in HKDSE?

    The 24 Senior Secondary Subjects are reported by means of Standards-referenced Reporting, which aims at reporting candidates’ results against a set of prescribed levels of achievement based on typical performances of candidates at those levels. Each level is provided with a level descriptor which describes the general performance and ability demonstrated by candidates. Candidates’ results reported under SRR will reflect his/ her knowledge and skills, and will not be compared to or affected by the performance of other candidates taking the same examination. The descriptors enable students and teachers to understand what the candidates know and can do when they achieve a certain level. The use of prescribed standards in grading also helps to ensure the consistency of standards of levels awarded across years.

     

     

  2. How does the new system of reporting results (SRR) facilitate learning and teaching in schools?

    The level descriptors provided in each subject facilitate teaching and learning by making explicit the standards expected at different levels of achievement. Teachers can help students understand their level of achievement at different stages of learning by matching their performance against the descriptors and they can then work towards a higher level of achievement.

     

     

  3. Why level 1 to level 5 are used instead of A to E in the HKDSE reporting system and why levels 5** and 5* are used instead of levels 6 and 7? How are levels 5* and 5** determined? Why are there no level descriptors for levels 5* and 5**?

    The performance in the Category A subjects is reported in five levels (level 1 to 5), with 5 being the highest. Performance below level 1 is designated as 'Unclassified'.

    To provide a finer discrimination of candidates’ ability at the top end to facilitate tertiary institutions and employers to select suitable candidates, level 5** is awarded to the highest-achieving 10% (approximately) level 5 candidates and level 5* is awarded to the next highest-achieving 30% (approximately) level 5 candidates after the determination of the standard of level 5 by the expert judges.

    Since levels 5** and 5* are determined by the distribution of candidates within level 5 instead of reference to prescribed standards, results of these candidates are annotated with the symbols ‘**’ and ‘*’, instead of being reported as levels 7 and 6 respectively. The performance standards of candidates at levels 5** and 5* are covered within the level 5 descriptors. Stakeholders can make reference to the level descriptors of level 5 to understand the standard and ability of levels 5** and 5* candidates.

    Using level 1 to level 5 instead of A to E helps avoid confusion with the reporting systems of Hong Kong Certificate of Education Examination (HKCEE) and Hong Kong Advanced Level of Education Examination (HKALE).

     

     

  4. Will the public examination results and the SBA results be reported separately?

    No. The public examination and the SBA are different modes of assessment, yet both of them measure the set of underlying candidate attributes within a particular subject. Therefore, combining the results of these two modes of assessment into an overall subject grade is a better and more reliable approach for reporting the achievement of a candidate in the subject.

     

     

  5. The wording in the level descriptors is quite generic. How can students and teachers understand the standard by referring to the level descriptors?

    When reading the level descriptors, students and teachers should also refer to the samples of student performance which illustrate the standards of typical performance at different levels.

     

     

  6. Under the SRR, are the marking criteria and guidelines different from the former practice? How does the HKEAA ensure that the marking in the HKDSE examination is fair?

    No. The marking criteria and guidelines are the same under the new system. Only the reporting system is different.

    The HKEAA has a well-established set of procedures in the marking process to ensure fairness of examinations. We have a quality assurance system in which all markers are trained and attend markers’ meetings before they start marking live scripts. During training, examiners explain to markers the assessment objectives and the requirements of individual questions. Markers trial-mark sample scripts so that they can understand how to apply the marking scheme/ criteria. During the actual marking, scripts are randomly selected for checkmarking so that the marking consistency of individual markers is monitored, which ensures that a common standard is maintained.

    In addition, onscreen marking is implemented in most of the subjects in HKDSE examination. This helps to enhance the quality, accuracy and efficiency of marking.

    To enhance marking reliability, the number of double marked exam papers (i.e. the same script is marked by two markers) has been increased for the HKDSE. Examples of such papers include the Writing paper of English Language and Chinese Language, and Liberal Studies.

     

     

  7. How will the results of Applied Learning subjects be reported?

    For Applied Learning subjects, assessment is undertaken by course providers. After moderation by the HKEAA, the final results will be reported on the HKDSE certificate. The results are reported in two levels -“Attained” and “Attained with distinction”. “Attained with Distinction” is comparable to HKDSE level 3 or above. For admission of sub-degree programmes and relevant civil service appointment, “Attained” is accepted as comparable to HKDSE level 2.

    Starting from the 2018 HKDSE, the reporting of students' performance in ApL subjects would be further refined from the existing two levels of "Attained" and "Attained with Distinction" to "Attained", "Attained with Distinction (I)" and "Attained with Distinction (II)". Performance of "Attained with Distinction (I)" is comparable to level 3 while "Attained with Distinction (II)" is comparable to level 4 or above of the Category A subjects of the HKDSE. For ApL Chinese (for non-Chinese speaking students), the existing levels of results, i.e. “Attained” and “Attained with Distinction”, will continue to be used. Refinement of these levels would be considered when more data is collected.

     

     

  8. How will the results of Other Language subjects be reported?

    For Other Language Subjects (including French, German, Hindi, Japanese, Spanish, Urdu), marking and grading are conducted by CIE. Results are reported in five grades (a – e), with grade e being the lowest and grade a being the highest. Achievements below grade e are designated as “ungraded”.

     

     

  9. How to set the percentage of each level? Is there any prescribed percentage for each level?

    Under standards-referenced reporting, candidates’ performances are reported with reference to a set of defined standards. Levels obtained by candidates reflect their performance and ability as matched against the defined standards. Therefore, each year the percentages of candidates attaining different levels will depend on the performance of candidates of a particular year, and there is no pre-set percentage.

    Levels 5* and 5** provide finer discrimination of candidates’ ability at the top end to facilitate tertiary institutions and employers to select suitable candidates. The top 10% level 5 candidates will be awarded level 5** while the next 30% of them will obtain level 5*.

     

     

  10. Will the results of different components in Chinese Language and English Language be reported individually in the certificate or results notice?

    The levels attained by candidates in the overall subject and individual components will be reported in the certificate and results notice to allow candidates to have more information about their performance and ability in each skill area assessed in the language subject.

     

     

  11. I got more level 5 than level 4 in the components of HKDSE Chinese Language. However, the overall result of the subject is still level 4. Why?

    For subjects with profile reporting, it is possible that individual component levels are higher than the subject level and vice versa. This is because although the subject level is derived from the component marks, each level consists of a range of marks and that each component carries a different weighting in the subject. Hence, the subject level is not calculated by simply averaging the component levels.

     

     

  12. How are paper marks combined to form the component mark (if any) and the subject mark?

    Before grading, the adjusted marks of each question / section are added up according to their relative weightings to form the paper mark. If a subject consists of two or more papers, the adjusted marks of individual papers need to be standardized (i.e. converted to the same scale) before the published paper weightings are applied to combine them to form the subject mark. This is necessary because individual papers of a subject have different means and spreads, the adjusted marks are not comparable with each other and hence cannot be directly added to form the subject mark using the weightings stated in the assessment framework.

    Please click here for details of the relevant example.

    After standardising the paper marks and taking into consideration the weightings of the papers (as published in the assessment framework, the weighted paper marks are calculated. The subject mark is the sum of the weighted paper marks. For subjects with profile reporting such as Chinese and English, the component mark is the same as the weighted paper mark if the component consists of only one paper. For components comprising two papers, the weighted paper marks of the constituent papers are added up to form the component mark. The subject mark is the sum of all the component marks.

     

     

 

 

 

HKEAA Logo

跳至主要內容 跳至瀏覽

成績匯報方法

問:

答:

  1. 香港中學文憑採用水平參照成績匯報有什麼優點?

    香港中學文憑考試24個高中科目採用水平參照匯報成績。水平參照是根據一套預設的能力等級來匯報考生所達到的水平。各能力等級附設有等級描述,說明有關等級典型學生所達到的能力及表現。考生所得的成績,能反映他/她所學到的知識及技能,無需跟其他考生比較,也不會受其他考生的表現而影響其所得的等級。等級描述有助學生及教師了解取得某個等級的考生所能達致的知識和能力水平。採用一套預設的水平作評級機制,亦可確保不同年份的水平維持不變。

     

     

  2. 水平參照成績匯報如何有助教與學?

    各科的等級描述清楚說明不同等級考生的表現水平,為學與教提供更明確的目標。教師可把學生的表現對照各等級的描述,幫助學生了解他們於不同學習階段所達致的水平,並且努力爭取較高等級的成績。

     

     

  3. 文憑試為什麼採用第1至第5級而不採用A至E來評級?為什麼不以第6和第7級代表5* 和 5** 級?如何訂定 5* 和 5** 級的水平? 為什麼 5* 和 5** 級沒有等級描述?

    考生在甲類科目的表現分為五個等級(1-5級),第5級為最高等級。表現低於第1等級的會標示為「不予評級」。

    為更細緻地區分表現最優異考生的成績,以助僱主及大專院校甄選人才,專家評判決定了第5級的水平後,訂定其中約10%成績最優異的第5級考生,可獲「5**」,隨後表現較佳的約30%考生,則可獲「5*」。

    由於第5* 和 5** 級以第5級內考生人數分布而定,而非參照既定水平,因此,我們以「*」及「**」代替第6及第7級。第5* 和 5** 級考生的表現水平已包括在第5級的等級描述內,用家可參考第5級的等級描述了解5* 和 5** 級考生的表現及水平。

    採用第1至第5級而非A至E級主要避免公眾將文憑試的等級和香港中學會考(會考)及香港高級程度會考(高考)的等級混淆。

     

     

  4. 公開考試成績和校本評核成績會否分別匯報?

    不會。因公開考試和校本評核僅屬不同的評核模式,但他們同樣評核考生於每個學科內的根本學習成果。因此,把這兩種評核模式的結果組成為整個科目的等級來匯報考生的成績,是較佳和較可靠的方法。

     

     

  5. 各等級的「等級描述」中的用詞較一般性,學生及教師如何透過有關描述掌握其表現水平?

    學生及教師在閱讀等級描述時應同時參考各等級的學生的表現示例,這些示例說明不同等級的典型表現水平。

     

     

  6. 在新的成績匯報制度下,評分方法和以往有否不同?如何確保新考試的評分公正?

    不會。在中學文憑考試下,成績匯報制度轉變了,但評分準則或方法並沒有改變。

    在評分過程中,考評局設有一套嚴謹的程序以確保考試的公平公正性。我們設有質素保證機制,所有閱卷員必須經過嚴謹的閱卷培訓,並須在閱卷前出席閱卷員會議,由試卷主席解釋試題的評核目標及各題的要求,閱卷員亦需評改樣本答卷以掌握評卷分的準則。於評卷過程中,亦會抽樣核卷和不時監察閱卷員評卷的水平和一致度,以確保評分的一致性和公平性。

    另外,網上評卷亦會於香港中學文憑考試大部分科目中推行,這有助我們監察評卷質素和評分的公平性。

    而為進一步提升評分的準確性,我們會於更多科目實施雙閱卷員制(即由兩名閱卷員批閱同一份答卷),如英國語文及中國語文的寫作能力試卷、通識教育科試卷等。

     

     

  7. 應用學習科目的成績是如何匯報?

    應用學習科目的評核工作由個別課程提供者負責。考生的成績會經由考評局審訂,並於香港中學文憑證書上匯報。成績以兩個等級發布,即「達標」和「達標並表現優異」。「達標並表現優異」等同香港中學文憑考試第3級或以上的成績。在副學位課程入學及有關公務員入職時,「達標」成績會獲接受相等於香港中學文憑考試第2級的成績。

    於2018年文憑試開始,考生在應用學習科目的成績匯報,將由現在「達標」和「達標並表現優異」兩個等級,再細分為「達標」、「達標並表現優異(I)」和「達標並表現優異(II)」。「達標並表現優異(I)」的表現水平等同文憑試甲類科目3級的成績,而「達標並表現優異(II)」的表現水平則等同4級或以上的成績。至於應用學習中文(非華語學生適用),則沿用「達標」和「達標並表現優異」。有關再細分等級的問題,有待收集更多資料後作進一步考慮。

     

     

  8. 其他語言科目的成績是如何匯報?

    其他語言科目(包括法語、德語、印地語、日語、西班牙語、烏爾都語)的閱卷及成績評級等工作由英國劍橋國際考試部(CIE)處理,而成績以五個等級(a-e)發布,以e級為最低,a為最高;e級以下的成績將「不予評級」。

     

     

  9. 如何訂定各等級的百分比?是否有訂定獲取每個等級考生的百分比?

    水平參照是根據一套預設的能力等級來匯報考生所達到的水平。考生所獲得的等級是按照其表現及能力,與預設的水平比照後而訂定。因此每年考獲各等級考生的百分比是視乎該年考生的表現而定,亦即沒有預設的百分比。

    至於第5級中的5*及5**級是為區分在第5級中成績最優秀的考生,方便大學招生及僱主招聘時甄選合適申請者而設。於第5級內,約10%成績最佳的考生會獲頒5**級,次佳約30%的考生則會獲5*級。

     

     

  10. 中國語文及英國語文科各分部的成績是否會於成績證書或成績通知單上分別匯報?

    香港中學文憑證書或成績通知書會列出每個語文科目的整體成績及各分部的成績,以助考生更清楚其於各項語文能力中的表現及能力。

     

     

  11. 我於香港中學文憑考試中國語文科的分部成績中,取得第5級的分部數目多於第4級的水平 ,為何總成績仍維持於第4級的分部數目?

    在分別匯報各卷成績和整科成績的科目評級中,考生於大部份試卷取得的等級高於整科總成績評級的情況偶有出現,反之亦然。其主要原因,與如何從各試卷的得分計算出整科總成績的評級、每個等級代表一段分數範圍,以及各試卷於整科佔不同比重有關。

     

     

  12. 如何從各卷分數計算出分部分數(如有)和科目總分?

    評級前,每份試卷內所有分題、分部的分數會按它們於該卷所佔的比重調整並相加,合成卷別積分。若同一科有兩份或以上試卷,各卷的積分必需首先進行標準化處理(即將分數轉換成同一標準以作比較),然後才加入各卷於整科所佔的比重計算科目得分。這是由於科目各卷別的平均分及分數分布均不同,因此各卷的積分不能作直接比較,科目總分亦不能簡單地從各卷的積分,根據評核大綱內各卷於整科所佔的比重總和而成。

    按此瀏覽有關例子。

    各卷別的積分經標準化和加入各卷於整科所佔的比重後(即根據評核大綱內各卷於整科所佔的比重),便計算出加權卷別積分。供評級用的科目總分則由全部卷別的加權卷別積分合成。以分部匯報成績的科目如中文科及英文科,若分部只有一份卷,其分部得分即是加權卷別積分;若是由兩份卷組成的分部,其分部得分便會由兩卷的加權卷別積分相加組成,而科目得分則是所有分部得分的總和。

     

     

 

 

 

新高中課程及評核檢討
香港中學文憑網上服務
為特殊需要考生提供服務
香港中學文憑專題文章
公開考試資訊中心
文憑試快線
香港中學文憑通訊
考評局通訊

訂閱電子通訊

訂閱電子通訊

考評局頻道

考評局頻道

無障礙網頁

無障礙網頁嘉許計劃

App下載

App下載

人才企業

人才企業


有能者∙聘之約章

有能者∙聘之約章
HKEAA Logo