Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Examination Regulations and Irregularities

Questions:

Answers:

  1. I cannot attend the examination due to sickness. Will there be a supplementary examination?

    No supplementary examination will be arranged for written and practical papers.

    Provided that the doctor certifies the candidate is fit to take the examination and that if the candidate or his/her representative can submit the application to the HKEAA Southorn Centre office (Address: 12/F, Southorn Centre, 130 Hennessy Road, Wan Chai, Hong Kong) together with the letter of authorisation and other necessary documents at least 24 hours before the examination, the candidate concerned may apply to take the examination in the hospital.

    For seriously ill candidates, the HKEAA may consider giving an assessed mark on the part of the subject the candidate was absent from, based on the remaining parts/paper(s) that were sat in the same year (only applicable where a candidate was able to sit at least one written paper for the subject concerned), or giving an assessed subject result (given only to school candidates whose applications are supported by their principals). Candidates concerned should make sure that a telephone call is made to the HKEAA before the examination takes place. They should immediately consult a registered medical practitioner and be able to produce the original copy of the medical certificates stating clearly the illness and how long they are unfit to sit an examination. They should submit a written request within 21 calendar days from the date of the examination to ‘The Secretary General’ of the HKEAA (a letter from the school principal supporting the request is required for school candidates). All applications should be accompanied by supporting evidence such as the original copy of the medical certificates.

    For details, please refer to the 'Handbook for Candidates'.

     

     

  2. Am I allowed to bring electronic devices to the examination centre?

    Before the start of an examination, make sure that articles such as notes, books and all kinds of electronic devices (including tablets, mobile phones, multimedia players, electronic dictionaries, databank watches, smart watches or other wearable technologies with communication or data storage functions) are taken out from your pockets/your body or removed from your desk/the drawer of your desk. If these articles are found on your desk or in the drawer of your desk, in your pockets or on your body during an examination, you may be disqualified from the whole examination. In case of doubt, the Centre Supervisor or invigilators may collect the device from you for further inspection after the examination. You will be asked to complete and sign on a report form for follow up by the HKEAA.

     

     

  3. Am I allowed to bring a mobile phone to the examination centre? Will the Centre Supervisor collect my mobile phone before the examination?

    Centre Supervisors will not collect candidates’ mobile phones before the examination. However, you are strongly advised not to bring your mobile phone to the examination centre. If you have a mobile phone with you, it must be turned off (including the alarm function) and put under your chair in a position clearly visible to the invigilators. You are also advised to take out the battery (if possible) from your mobile phone before the start of the examination to ensure that no sound will be emitted because of the alarm function. If the alarm of your mobile phone/article that can emit sound rings during the examination, you will be subject to a mark penalty or subject downgrading.

    If your mobile phone or the alarm rings during an examination, the invigilation staff will ask you to show the mobile phone call/SMS/instant message log etc. and note down the relevant information for further investigation by the HKEAA. If you refuse to cooperate, the invigilation staff will record this in the report to the HKEAA.

     

     

  4. Am I allowed to use a calculator during the examination?

    Electronic calculators, including programmable calculators, may be used in any examination sessions (other than Chinese Language, English Language subjects) provided that the calculators are battery-powered, silent in operation, with no print-out or graphic/word-display facilities and do not use dot-matrix technology in the main display.

    The calculators must have been pad-printed with the ‘H.K.E.A.A. APPROVED’ or ‘H.K.E.A. APPROVED’ label. If the label on your calculator has faded with time, have it pad-printed again before the examination. Candidates bringing a calculator without the required label to the examination will risk a mark penalty.

    For the list of permitted calculators, please refer to the 'Handbook for Candidates'.

     

     

  5. Where will the pad-printing service for calculators be arranged by the HKEAA?

    The HKEAA has already authorised manufacturers of calculators to pad-print ‘H.K.E.A.A. APPROVED’ or ‘H.K.E.A APPROVED’ labels on the permitted calculators in advance. Candidates can purchase calculators with pad-printed labels in the market.

    If the label has faded with time, candidates may bring their calculators, together with their admission form, to the HKEAA Southorn Centre office (Address: 12/F, Southorn Centre, 130 Hennessy Road, Wan Chai, Hong Kong) for free pad-printing service in March 2019 according to the dates specified in the ‘Handbook for Candidates’. School candidates may apply for the pad-printing services via their school. Check out more details in the 'Handbook for Candidates'.

     

     

    • If a calculator is suspected to have been modified, will the invigilator take away the calculator for inspection? Will this affect the candidate concerned to continue the examination?

      If an invigilator suspects that a calculator has been modified, he/she may collect the calculator from the candidate after the examination and submit it to the HKEAA for inspection. The HKEAA will return the calculator to the candidate the soonest in order not to affect his/her use in other subjects.

       

       

    • Am I allowed to use multimedia players, Bluetooth/Wi-Fi devices, mobile phones, earphones with built-in radio in the Listening components?

      Candidates may use listening devices equipped with an FM radio. Except for these, other electronic devices (including but not limited to multimedia players, Bluetooth/Wi-Fi devices, mobile phones, earphones with built-in radio etc.) are not allowed.

       

       

    • If I find that the radio which I brought to the examination centre is not working properly, what should I do?

      You should report this to the Centre Supervisor immediately and request to take the listening component in the Special Room.

       

       

    • If there are construction works near the examination centre or other factors affecting the listening components, what should I do?

      Every year, the HKEAA informs government departments, public utilities, construction companies, secondary and primary schools near the examination centres the examination timetables and the examination accommodations, and requests them to minimise noise nuisances during the examinations.

      Candidates who feel that their performance is affected by noise or other irregularities should seek assistance from the Centre Supervisor or invigilators at the time the undesirable conditions arise or request to go to the Special Room in a listening component. However, candidates should not expect complete silence in the examination centre as they will not be completely shielded from normal background noise (e.g. from outside vehicles, normal school activities, school bells, etc.) during an examination.

      Complaints about the examination centre environment (e.g. insufficient lighting, loud noise disturbance etc.) and reception in the listening component must be made with the Centre Supervisor/invigilator at the examination centre. Candidates should provide specific information about the undesirable condition(s) encountered (e.g. time and duration of the noise/disturbance) before they leave the examination centre. Subsequent complaints of performance being affected by undesirable centre conditions or reception problem after the examination will NOT be entertained.

       

       

    • Will there be any mark penalty if I go to the Special Room during a listening component?

      Mark penalty will not be imposed on candidates who take the listening component in the Special Room due to reception problem or radio/earphones not working.

      However, a mark penalty will be imposed on candidates who take the test in the Special Room because they:

      - do not bring a radio;

      - do not bring earphones or batteries;

      - arrive 30 minutes or more after the reporting time;

      - bring an oversized radio or an electronic device other than a radio;

      - use their own radio in the Special Room.

      You can find more details in the 'Handbook for Candidates'.

       

       

    • Why are candidates not allowed to use their own radio in the Special Room?

      The Special Room is a room equipped with an ordinary radio. Latecomers or candidates who bring along a defective radio will be sent to the Special Room. To minimise disturbance to other candidates, the HKEAA has banned the use of own radio in the Special Room. A mark penalty will be imposed on candidates who breach this regulation.

       

       

    • Will the Infra-red Transmission System be installed in all listening centres? How does the HKEAA allocate candidates to centres with the Infra-red Transmission System?

      The HKEAA uses the Infra-red Transmission System in centres with poor radio signal reception so that these centres can be used for the conduct of the listening components. As the installation of the Infra-red Transmission System is not technically feasible in all venues, it will only be used in areas with shortage of suitable listening examination centres.

      Candidates are randomly allocated to examination centres with reference to their area choice.

       

       

    • If I am allocated to a listening centre using an Infra-red Transmission System, do I need to bring a radio or earphones to the centre?

      Candidates allocated to a listening centre using an Infra-red Transmission System do not need to bring a radio. However, candidates MUST bring their own earphones with two insulating rings on the plug for plugging into the receivers (diameter of plug: 3.5 mm) provided by the HKEAA.

      You can find more details in the 'Handbook for Candidates'.

       

       

    • Will I receive a mark penalty if I used a ball pen to answer questions which are required to be answered in HB pencil?

      Candidates are advised to use an HB pencil for questions which are expected to have more amendments on the answers during the examination. Candidates will not receive a mark penalty for answering such questions using a ball pen. However, the answers should be written clearly; otherwise the markers will not be able to mark the answers. Unless special instructions have been stated on specific examination questions or multiple choice questions, candidates are advised to use a blue or black ball pen in writing their answers. With the inclusion of all Category A subjects to Onscreen Marking, candidates are advised to have clear handwriting for markers to have a clear scanned image for marking.

       

       

    • I forgot to affix my barcode label(s) in an examination session. How will my scripts be handled?

      After the ‘Stop working’ announcement, you will NOT be permitted to stick barcode labels on your answer scripts/supplementary answer sheets/graph papers/MC answer sheets. If you have not stuck the barcode labels on the designated spaces on the cover and/or inner pages of your scripts as instructed, you will risk a mark penalty and the possibility of your answers NOT be marked. During script collection, to facilitate the scanning process, you will be allowed to stick a barcode label on the cover of your answer scripts/MC answer sheets under the supervision of the invigilator. You have to sign a report form before leaving the examination room for follow up by the HKEAA.

       

       

    • If a candidate takes photographs of the barcode label(s) or takes away the barcode label(s) from an examination centre or even uploads the photographs onto the Internet, what kind of penalty will the candidate receive?

      At the end of the examination, invigilators will collect the barcode sheets separately. Candidates are not permitted to take photographs of any barcode labels or remove any remaining barcode labels from the examination centre; otherwise, they will receive a mark penalty. Candidates who display their barcode labels electronically or publicly will receive a subject downgrading.

       

       

    • How can I report to the HKEAA if I forgot to write question numbers on my answer books/supplementary answer sheets in an examination? Or if I wrote a wrong question number? What should I do if I found anything deviated from the normal examination procedures during an examination session?

      Remember to fill in the correct question number box on each page of the answer book/supplementary answer sheet on which you have written your answers. If you fill in the wrong question number or do not fill in any question number, you will run the risk of your answers NOT being marked. Candidates will NOT be allowed to fill in the question number box after the ‘Stop working’ announcement.

      Candidates who report to the HKEAA after the examination about not following the instruction of writing the correct question numbers/marking the correct question number boxes will NOT be followed up individually. The scripts of all candidates will be handled according to the stipulated procedures.

       

       

    • How are candidate’s complaints handled?
      • All complaints are dealt with by a Standing Committee of the HKEAA which is chaired by the Director – Public Examinations and comprising staff who are experienced in examination procedures and operations. (Note: Members of the Committee must not be personally involved in the cases under complaint.)
      •  

      • All letters/reports from schools, candidates and examination centres on examination irregularities, such as candidates’ complaints, disobeying instructions, falling ill during an examination or noise disturbance, are dealt with by the Standing Committee.
      •  

      • The Standing Committee meets on a regular basis during the examination period and investigates cases with substantiated evidence. Depending on the nature and circumstances of individual cases, the Committee will also contact the Centre Supervisors, invigilators, Oral Examiners, Waiting Room Supervisors and/or other candidates present in the same centre (as appropriate) in the process of investigation. The Committee may also check the video recordings of the examination, review the candidates’ scripts and perform statistical analyses in relation to the cases as appropriate.
      •  

      • Where there is strong evidence that a candidate’s performance on an examination is significantly affected by incidents, for example, loud noise, insufficient lighting or other environmental conditions, inappropriate conduct by centre staff, or sudden illness or injury which could not be resolved on the spot after reporting the case to invigilators, slight upward mark adjustments may be applied.
      •  

      • Where a candidate’s performance in a speaking examination is adversely affected by procedural, technical or human errors, or when the unsatisfactory quality of the recording makes it impossible to remark the candidate’s performance, the candidate concerned may be offered an option to re-sit the speaking examination at a re-scheduled time in order to provide a replacement mark since mark adjustment is not applicable to speaking examinations.
      •  

      • For straightforward cases, the Committee will take action in accordance with the guidelines laid down by the Public Examinations Board (PEB) and inform candidates concerned of the outcome before the release of examination results. Candidates who do not agree with the Committee’s conclusion on their cases should provide new/additional evidence and write to the HKEAA within 5 calendar days upon the issue of the notification. The Committee will reconsider the cases based on the new/additional evidence provided, as appropriate, and make recommendations on these cases to the PEB for consideration/decision.
      •  

      • For more complicated cases involving imposition of sanctions or special consideration, the Committee will compile reports with recommendations for consideration by the PEB. The PEB will examine the reports carefully and make a decision on the cases. The decision of the PEB will be conveyed to the candidates concerned on the date of release of examination results.
      •  

       

       

       

       

     

     

     

    HKEAA Logo

跳至主要內容 跳至瀏覽

考試規則及異常情況

問:

答:

  1. 我如因病不能應試,考評局能否安排補考?

    筆試及實習考試不設補考。

    考生如取得到主診醫生書面同意,證實考生身體狀況適宜應考,而考生或其代表於有關科目考試前最少24小時攜同授權書及有關證明文件到灣仔修頓中心12樓考評局辦事處申請,有關考生可申請在醫院應試。

    至於病情嚴重的考生,考評局可考慮根據該考生於是次考試已應考之同一科目的分部/卷別評估其該科成績(只適用於已應考有關科目至少一卷筆試的考生),或發給科目評審成績(只限頒發予經校長推薦的學校考生)。考生必須於考試前致電考評局備案,並立即找註冊醫生診治及取得醫生證明書正本證實考生所患何病及不能應試的時期。考生必須於21曆日內向考評局秘書長書面申請﹝學校考生須附有校長支持其申請的函件﹞,並附有醫生證明書正本。有關詳情請查閱《考生手冊》特殊事故的處理方法。

     

     

  2. 我可否攜帶電子器材進入試場?

    開考前,確保你的衣袋內、身上、桌上或抽屜內沒有任何筆記、書籍或任何電子器材(包括平板電腦、手提電話、多媒體播放器、電子字典、具文字顯示功能的手錶、智能手錶或其他穿戴式附有通訊或資料貯存功能之科技用品)。考試進行中,倘若你被發現衣袋內、身上、桌上或抽屜內有這些物品,可能會被取消全部考試成績。如有懷疑,試場主任或監考員或會收集你的裝置於考試後作進一步檢查,而你亦須填寫並簽署報告書作為考評局跟進之用。

     

     

  3. 我可否攜帶手提電話進入試場?試場主任會否於開考前沒收我的手提電話?

    試場主任不會沒收考生的手提電話,惟本局強烈勸籲考生不要攜帶手提電話進入試場。如你攜帶手提電話,應把它關掉(包括響閙功能)並放在座位椅下的當眼處,讓監考員清楚看見。本局亦勸籲你應於開考前,先將手提電話的電池取出(如可能的話),以確保電話不會因預設的響鬧功能而發出聲響。你手提電話的鬧鐘或備有響鬧功能的物品如在考試中途發出聲響,你的科目成績會被扣分,甚至被降級。

    在考試進行中,如你的手提電話或響鬧裝置發出聲響,監考員會要求你出示手提電話的通話/短訊/即時通訊記錄等,並記下相關資料,以便考評局進行調查。拒絕合作者,監考員會撰寫報告,將情況告知考評局。

     

     

  4. 我在考試中,可否使用計算機?

    你參加任何科目考試(除中國語文科、英國語文科外),均可使用電子計算機,包括可輸入計算程式的計算機。但計算機必須以乾電池為能源、操作時不發出聲響及沒有印刷或顯示圖表/語文字句設備。考生不得使用備有點陣顯示模式的計算機。
    計算機必須已印上「H.K.E.A.A. APPROVED」或「H.K.E.A. APPROVED」的標籤。倘若你的計算機經長期使用以致機上的標籤褪色,你必須在考試前攜同該計算機前往考評局重新加印標籤。考生攜帶未有印上指定標籤的計算機應試,會被扣分。 有關「准用計算機型號名單」,可參閱 《考生手冊》

     

     

  5. 考生可以在哪裡處理計算機加印標籤事宜?

    本局已授權計算機生產商在准用型號的計算機上預先印上「H.K.E.A.A. APPROVED」或「H.K.E.A APPROVED」標籤,考生可在市面上購買。若計算機經考生長期使用以致標籤褪色,考生可於2018年3月中/下旬依《考生手冊》內的指定日期,攜同准考證及該計算機前往考評局修頓中心辦事處(地址﹕香港灣仔軒尼詩道130號修頓中心12樓)辦理免費加印標籤服務。學校考生亦可透過學校辦理。有關詳情可參閱《考生手冊》

     

     

    • 監考員如懷疑計算機曾被改裝,會否沒收考生計算機作檢查,這會否影響考生應考,考評局會如何處理?

      若監考員懷疑考生使用的計數機曾被改裝,可於考試後向考生收取計算機並將計算機遞交到考評局作檢查。但本局會盡快將計算機歸還給考生,以免阻礙考生繼續應考其他科目。

       

       

    • 我可否於聆聽部分中使用多媒體播放器、藍牙/Wi-Fi設備、手提電話、內置於耳筒的收音機?

      考生可使用能收聽FM電台廣播的耳筒式收音設備,其他電子儀器(包括但非只限於多媒體播放器、藍牙/Wi-Fi設備、手提電話、內置於耳筒的收音機等)均不可使用。

       

       

    • 若我所攜帶的收音機不能如常運作,應怎麽辦?

      你應立即向試場主任報告,要求往特別室應考聆聽部分。

       

       

    • 若試場附近有工程進行或其他因素影響聆聽部分的進行,我應怎麼辦?

      本局在每年考試前會將公開考試的時間表及考試場地告知負責工程的政府部門、公共機構、建築公司、鄰近試場的中小學等,要求他們於考試期間盡量減低考場附近的噪音。 考生若認為其表現受到嘈音或其他異常情況所影響,應即時向試場主任或監考人員求助,或於應考聆聽部分時要求前往特別室應試。惟考生不應預期試場為一個絕對寜靜的環境,考生於考試期間難免會聽到一般的雜聲(例如:外來的汽車聲、一般學校活動或課堂鈴聲等。)
      有關試場環境(例如:燈光不足、高聲量的噪音滋擾等)及聆聽部分的接收問題,考生必須於試場內向試場主任/監考員提出。考生必須於離開試場前作出投訴,並須提供不理想試場環境情況的細節(例如:噪音/滋擾出現的時間及持續時段)。考生於考試後始就其考試表現受到不理想的試場情況或接收問題影響的投訴將不獲處理。

       

       

    • 如我前往到特別室應考聆聽部分,會否被扣分?

      如你因接收問題或收音機/耳筒不能正常運作而前往特別室應試,不會被扣分。

      不過,若考生因以下情況而進入特別室應考則會被扣分:

      - 沒有攜帶收音機;

      - 沒有帶備耳筒或電池;

      - 較報到時間遲逾30分鐘始抵達試場;

      - 收音機體積過大,或攜帶收音機以外之電子儀器應試;

      - 在特別室內使用自備的耳筒式收音機收聽考試廣播。

      有關詳情可參閱《考生手冊》

       

       

    • 考生為何不可於特別室使用自備的收音機應試?

      特別室是一個設有座枱式收音機作廣播的課室,供在使用自備收音機時遇到問題或遲到的考生使用。為避免影響有真正需要的考生,考評局規定到特別室應考的考生,不可以同時使用自備的收音機,否則會被扣分。

       

       

    • 是否所有聆聽試場均設有紅外線接收系統?考評局會以什麼機制編配考生到設有紅外線接收系統的聆聽試場應考?

      考評局會於收音機廣播接收較差的試場裝設紅外線接收系統,以進行聆聽部分。由於安裝紅外線接收系統於技術上並非所有試場均可行,故只適用於未有足夠合適試場的地區使用。

      試場安排是依據考生所選擇的地區進行電腦隨機編配。

       

       

    • 若我於使用紅外線接收系統的試場應考聆聽部分,我是否需要攜帶收音機或耳筒?

      在使用紅外線接收系統的試場應考,考生並不需要攜帶收音機,但考生必須自備於插頭上備有兩個絕緣環的耳筒,以接駁本局提供的接收器(插頭直徑:3.5 mm)收聽考試廣播。

      有關詳情可參閱《考生手冊》

       

       

    • 若試題列明考生應用鉛筆作答,但我卻使用了原子筆作答,會否被扣分?

      部分題目的答案可能需較多修改,在此情況下,本局會建議考生使用HB鉛筆作答該些題目。即使考生使用原子筆作答有關題目,亦不會被扣分,惟答案須清楚書寫,否則閱卷員將無法評閱。除了選擇題或特別註明的題目外,我們建議考生使用藍色或黑色原子筆作答;隨著網上評卷擴展至所有甲類科目,字體清晰有助閱卷員評閱掃描影像。

       

       

    • 我於考試期間忘記貼上自己的電腦條碼貼紙,考評局會怎樣處理我的答卷?

      考生不遵從相關規則,未有在答卷的封面及/或內頁、多項選擇題答題紙、補充答題紙及方格紙的指定位置貼上電腦條碼貼紙,其在該卷別的成績可能會被扣分及你的答案或會未能被正常地評閱。
      考生於考試後向考評局報告未有遵從指示貼上電腦條碼貼紙,本局不會就個案作個別跟進。考評局會按照既定的程序處理考生的答卷。

       

       

    • 考生於試場內拍下電腦條碼貼紙的照片或將電腦條碼貼紙攜離試場,再把照片上載至互聯網,考評局會如何向該考生作出處分?

      考試完結時,監考員會分開收集答卷及電腦條碼紙。考生不可將電腦條碼貼紙拍攝存檔或將剩餘的電腦條碼貼紙帶離試場,否則會被扣分。考生如以電子或公開形式展示電腦條碼貼紙,其科目成績會被降級。

       

       

    • 如我在答題簿/補充答題紙漏寫題號或寫錯題號,應如何通知考評局?若我於考試期間發現任何異常情況,應如何處理?

      考生務必在每頁寫有答案的答題簿/補充答題紙上填畫正確的試題編號方格,否則該錯填/漏填試題編號答卷頁的評閱或會受到影響。試場主任宣布「停止作答」後,考生不會獲准填畫試題編號方格。
      考生於考試後向考評局報告未有遵從指示填寫正確的試題編號/填畫正確的試題編號方格,本局不會就個案作個別跟進。考評局會按照既定的程序處理考生的答卷。

       

       

    • 考評局怎樣處理考生的投訴?

       

      • 所有投訴均由考評局總監—公開考試擔任主席的「常設委員會」處理,成員包括在考試程序及運作上具備豐富經驗的職員。(註:該委員會成員均不能牽涉在投訴個案內。)

         

      • 所有學校、考生的來信及試場主任遞交的異常情況報告(例如:考生來函投訴、違反規則、考試中途病倒或受噪音干擾等)均經由考評局的「常設委員會」詳細審閱。

         

      • 「常設委員會」在考試期間定期舉行會議,並會就具備確實證據的個案進行調查。該委員會會因應個別投訴的性質及情況,在調查過程中聯絡試場主任、監考員、口試主考員、報到室主管及/或試場內的其他考生(如適用)。如有需要,「常設委員會」亦會於適當時查閱考試的錄影片段、檢視考生的答卷及就個案作統計分析。

         

      • 若有充分證據證明考生的表現明顯受到一些事故影響,例如巨大的噪音、光線不足或其他環境因素、試場人員行為失當、突發疾病或受傷,而有關事故經向監考員報告後未能即場解決,考生的分數或會獲得輕微調升。

         

      • 若考生的口試表現受到程序上、技術上或人為錯誤的影響,或因口試的錄影質素不理想導致考生的表現未能得到重新評核,有關考生或會獲選擇重考口試的機會,由於分數調整並不適用於口試,考評局會安排考生在另一時段重考,而重考的分數會取代原有分數。

         

      • 較簡單的個案,「常設委員會」會根據「公開考試委員會」所訂定的指引處理,並在成績發放前將結果通知考生。若考生對「常設委員會」的結論有異議,必須在通知發出日期的5曆日內以書面提供新/補充證據,「常設委員會」會根據所提供的證據重新考慮有關個案(如適用),並提交「公開考試委員會」審理/決定。

         

      • 至於一些牽涉罰則或需作特別考慮的個案,「常設委員會」會提交報告連同建議予「公開考試委員會」審議。「公開考試委員會」在詳細審閱個案資料後,會作出決定。考評局會在發放考試成績當日將「公開考試委員會」的決定通知考生。

       

       

       

       

     

     

     

    HKEAA Logo