Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Category A: Standards-referenced Reporting

In line with international standards and to ensure the transparency and explicitness of the results, Standards-referenced reporting (SRR) is adopted to report candidates' assessment results in the HKDSE Examination. What it transpires is that candidates ‘levels of performance are reported with reference to a set of standards as defined by cut scores on the variable or scale for a given subject. The set of standards for a given subject can be represented diagrammatically as shown below:

 

 

Within the context of the HKDSE there are five cut scores, which are used to distinguish five levels of performance (1–5), with 5 being the highest. Performance below the threshold cut score for level 1 is designated as “Unclassified” (U). To maintain current levels of discrimination for selection purposes, results of level 5 candidates with the best performance are annotated with the symbols ‘**’ and the next top group with the symbol ‘*’.

For each of the five levels, a set of written descriptors is developed that describe what the typical candidate performing at this level is able to do. The principle behind these descriptors is to describe what typical candidates can do, not what they cannot do. These descriptors merely represent “on-average” statements and may not apply precisely to individuals, whose performance within a subject may be variable and span two or more levels.

A set of generic descriptors is drawn up to provide an overall brief description of the performance standards of candidates at different levels across subjects. The generic descriptors encompass the major learning outcomes that are common across subjects, namely knowledge and understanding of the curriculum and the ability to apply concepts and skills, higher order abilities such as interpretation, analysis, synthesis and evaluation, and the ability to communicate. There are also subject level descriptors which describe specifically the performance standards of candidates in the expected learning outcomes of each subject. Please click here to access the webpage of "Subject Information" for the level descriptors of individual subjects.

In addition, samples of candidates’ performance and level descriptors at various levels of Category A subjects are available on this website. These samples, together with the generic descriptors, will be able to clarify the standards expected at various levels.

The setting standards for the HKDSE, levels 4 and 5 are set with reference to the standards achieved by candidates awarded grades A–D in the HKALE. In doing so, it is hoped to ensure a degree of continuity with past practice, for facilitating tertiary selection and for maintaining international recognition. It needs to be stressed, however, that the intention is to make certain standards will remain constant – not the percentages of candidates awarded different levels, as these are free to vary in line with fluctuations in overall candidate performance.

In addition, the HKEAA has established a grading system which aims to maintain standards between successive years and inter-subject comparability within the same year. For details about the grading procedures and the SRR approach, please refer to the booklet on Grading Procedures and Standards-referenced Reporting in the HKDSE Examination.

Generic Level Descriptors and Samples of student performance

 

 

 

HKEAA Logo

跳至主要內容 跳至瀏覽

甲類科目: 水平參照成績匯報

為確保成績匯報的方式符合國際水平、而且透明度高及清晰明確,文憑試採用水平參照模式匯報考生的成績。意思就是按有關科目的變量或刻度上的臨界分數而訂定水平標準,然後參照這套水平標準來匯報考生表現的等級。下圖展示一個科目水平標準的訂定:

 

 

香港中學文憑以五個臨界分數來訂定五個表現等級 (1至5),第 5 級為最高等級。表現低於第 1 級的起始臨界分數會標示為「不予評級」(U)。為了維持現時公開評核的區別能力以供遴選之用,在考獲第 5 等級的考生中,表現最優異的,其成績將以「**」標示,隨後表現較佳的則以「*」標示。

各等級附有一套等級描述,以說明達至該等級的典型學生的能力水平。制訂這些等級描述的原則,是它們所描述的是該等級的典型學生所能掌握的能力,而非不能掌握的能力。這些等級描述所說明的只是「平均而言」的表現,未必能準確地應用於個別考生,因考生在某一科目中的各方面的表現可能有所參差,跨越兩個或以上的等級。

考評局亦為此制定了一套共通等級描述,這一套描述涵蓋不同科目,簡略說明考生於不同等級的整體表現水平。共通等級描述是根據各學科共同的主要學習成果而擬訂,當中包括對課程內容的認識和理解,應用概念和技巧的能力,以至詮釋、分析、綜合和評價等高階能力,同時也包括傳意能力。除了共通等級描述外,每個科目也根據其預期的學習成果擬訂一套等級描述,詳細說明考生在該科不同等級的表現水平。請按此瀏覽「科目資訊」以讀取各科等級描述的資料。

此外,不同等級的考生表現示例已上載於網頁上,再配合共通等級描述,有助釐清各等級的預期水平。

在訂定香港中學文憑第 4 級和第 5 級的等級水平時,已參照香港高級程度會考 A 至 D 級的水平。目的在於保持與以往的評核模式有一定程度的延續性,以方便大專院校遴選學生,以及維持國際認受。需要強調的是,這個安排是要令有關等級的水平,而非其百分比,在不同年份維持不變。事實上,這些等級分佈的百分比是會因考生的整體表現而有所改變。

另外,考評局亦確立了一套與水平參照模式匯報配合的評級制度,確保各年度之間的水平穩定,並維持同一年內各科成績的可比性。有關評級程序及水平參照成績匯報的詳情,請參閱《香港中學文憑考試 - 評級程序與水平參照成績匯報》小冊子。

共通等級描述及學生表現示例

 

 

 

新高中課程及評核檢討
香港中學文憑網上服務
為特殊需要考生提供服務
樣本試卷及練習卷
香港中學文憑專題文章
公開考試資訊中心
文憑試快線
香港中學文憑通訊
考評局通訊

訂閱電子通訊

訂閱電子通訊

考評局頻道

考評局頻道

無障礙網頁

無障礙網頁嘉許計劃

App下載

App下載

有能者∙聘之約章

有能者∙聘之約章
HKEAA Logo