Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Marking Procedure for Written Papers (Category A subjects)

Appointment of markers: Applicants' academic qualifications, and teaching and marking experience are the key elements for consideration in the selection process. All markers are required to undertake rigorous training and to be qualified for marking. Each year, around 4 000 markers are recruited, most of whom are teachers.

 

 

Marking scheme: Prepared by the moderation committee, the marking scheme serves as a guide to markers on how marks should be awarded, taking into consideration the question requirements and the range of acceptable responses. Moderation committees, each comprising a Chief Examiner, a setter or co-setters, moderators and an HKEAA subject manager, are responsible for the development of question papers and marking schemes.

Marking schemes are not model answers. Answers not covered by the marking scheme could also score marks if they are relevant to the question and logically presented.

 

 

Sample scripts selection: After the examination, sample scripts covering different approaches of candidates’ responses and illustrating performance in relation to the level descriptors are selected. These samples provide useful material for standardising marking and for grading.

 

 

Standardisation meeting: The examiners compare marks awarded to the sample scripts, agree on marking principles and standards, and revise the marking scheme, where necessary, before the markers’ meeting.

 

 

Markers' meeting: The examiners brief markers on the assessment objectives and demands of individual questions. Some sample scripts are trial marked by markers to identify and rectify discrepancies in the interpretation of the marking scheme.

 

 

Allocation of scripts to markers:Candidates are assigned random candidate numbers by computer. Since the 2015 HKDSE, the written papers of all subjects have adopted onscreen marking (OSM) in which candidates’ scripts are randomly distributed to markers, with scripts from their students or close family members excluded in the distribution.Markers do not know the identity of the candidates.

 

 

Marking: Markers must demonstrate that they have mastered the marking standards before they can proceed to mark the scripts. For scripts that are double-marked, there will be two raw marks awarded independently by two different markers. If there is a big discrepancy between these two marks, a third marker will mark the script. A fourth marking will also be conducted if there is a continuing discrepancy, to ensure a fair assessment of the script. Normally, the closest, highest pair of marks is added up to form the raw mark for the script.

 

 

Checkmarking: The marked scripts of each marker undergo at least two stages of checkmarking by the examiners to ensure consistency and to spot problems of marking. If a script has been selected for checkmarking, the mark awarded by the checkmarker is also recorded and may override the raw mark if deemed more reliable.

 

 

Addition of marks: As scripts are marked onscreen, marks are automatically added up and checked by the computer system.

Points to Note

It should be noted that marking involves professional judgements and is not an exact science. Different markers may not award identical marks to the same answer, particularly for questions of an open-ended nature.Marks awarded by persons who have not been trained or standardised cannot be regarded as valid assessments of candidates’ performance.

 

 

 

HKEAA Logo

跳至主要內容 跳至瀏覽

評閱答卷的程序(甲類科目)

招聘閱卷員: 考評局主要根據申請人學歷,以及教學和閱卷經驗,擇優選聘。所有閱卷員必須接受嚴格的培訓,合資格者才可參與閱卷的工作。每年聘用約4 000名閱卷員,大部分為現職教師。

 

 

評卷參考:由審題委員會草擬,目的為閱卷員提供指引,例如題目的要求及可接受的答案等,讓閱卷員有所依循。審題委員會由試卷主席、擬題員、審題員及考評局科目經理組成,負責擬定試題及評卷參考。

評卷參考並非標準答案,即使考生答案未有包括在評卷參考內,只要言之成理,符合題旨,亦可獲得分數。

 

 

樣本答卷:考試結束後會抽選不同答法及展現各個等級描述的答卷作樣本,以統一評卷標準及作為評級的參考。

 

 

統一評卷標準會議:召開閱卷員會議之前,各試卷主席會評閱及比較樣本答卷,達成評分準則及標準的共識,如有需要亦會修訂評卷參考。

 

 

閱卷員會議:試卷主席向閱卷員解釋評核目的及各題目的要求,讓閱卷員評改樣本答卷,從而掌握評卷參考的準則,並統一閱卷員對評卷參考的不同理解。

 

 

分配答卷:考生編號由電腦隨機分配。由2015年文憑試起,所有科目的筆試答卷均採用網上評卷,考生答卷會隨機分派予各閱卷員,而閱卷員不會獲派其任教學校學生或近親的答卷。閱卷員不能識別考生的身分。

 

 

評閱答卷: 閱卷員必須充分掌握評卷標準才可正式評卷。如採用雙評制,兩位閱卷員將分別獨立評分。若兩個分數有明顯差異,將交由第三位閱卷員評卷;如分數仍有顯著差異,會進行第四次評卷,以確保答卷獲得公平的評核。最後,一般會取最接近及最高的兩個分數相加,作為該答卷的基本得分。

 

 

核卷:每名閱卷員所評閱的答卷,均須經過最少兩次由試卷主席負責的核卷程序,確保評分準則一致,並且查核評改是否無誤。被抽樣查核的答卷,核卷員的給分會記錄在案,如有需要,此分數會取代基本得分。

 

 

計算答卷得分: 由於採用網上評卷,答卷的得分全部由電腦系統自動計算。

注意事項

評卷工作涉及專業判斷,並非精密科學。同一份答卷,尤其開放式題目的答案,不同的閱卷員所給予的分數可能會有差異。任何人士,如未經評卷訓練、以統一的準則評卷,其所評的分數,並不能反映考生的真正表現。

 

 

 

考評局網站用戶意見調查
新高中課程及評核檢討
香港中學文憑網上服務
為特殊需要考生提供服務
香港中學文憑專題文章
公開考試資訊中心
文憑試快線
考評局通訊

訂閱電子通訊

訂閱電子通訊

考評局頻道

考評局頻道

無障礙網頁

無障礙網頁嘉許計劃

App下載

App下載

人才企業

人才企業


有能者∙聘之約章

有能者∙聘之約章
HKEAA Logo